Work Trial Scheme

Highlights of the Scheme

Feedback from employers is encouraging. Among others, the service sector is most supportive towards the Scheme, followed by the import and export industry and the retail industry. As for the work trial posts offered, most of them are clerical support workers, elementary occupations and associate professionals. As at 31 December 2021, over 6,500 job seekers have been placed into work trials. Among those participants who have completed the one-month work trial, over 75% of them are offered employment. With effect from 1 May 2019, the amount of full-time work trial allowance has been increased from $7,600 to $8,300. The Scheme is also extended to cover part-time posts with the amount of part-time work trial allowance calculated at $49 per hour.

For enquiries, please contact the Work Trial Scheme Co-ordinating Office hotline at 2152 2090 or browse our website https://www.jobs.gov.hk


Success Stories

Below are the highlights of three job seekers who have successfully secured employment through participating in the Scheme:

Case 1

A mature and reliable employee

Ms. CHAN Mei-chun had used to be a sewing machine operator before she changed job to work for an electronic company as a sales coordinator for 13 years. Unfortunately, she lost her job in 2010. She spent a year looking for another job. To her disappointment, most of the resumes she sent out went unanswered. Finally, as advised by the placement officer of the Labour Department, she joined the Work Trial Scheme (the Scheme) and was arranged to work as a sales coordinator under the Scheme in Keswick Global Services Limited (KGSL) in February 2011. Working in KGSL, which mainly engages in the export of brand-name garment, Ms. CHAN is able to bring her potential into full play by utilising the knowledge she gained in the garment industry and her experience as a sales coordinator in an electronic company. Coupled with suitable training provided by the company, Ms CHAN's good performance during the work trial period earned her praises and recognition. After the one-month work trial period, she was offered employment by the company with a handsome pay rise! At present, Ms. CHAN is a member of the company. She still keeps up the momentum and attends garment courses after work, striving to become a reliable and competent employee.

Mr. Anthony KAM and Miss May KAM, the persons-in-charge of KGSL, are very satisfied with Ms. CHAN's performance. The company had long been searching for a sales coordinator with experience in the garment industry. As recommended by friends, the company joined the Scheme and successfully recruited Ms. CHAN who has ample experience in the field. They both said that they would definitely continue to participate in the Scheme!

Ms. CHAN Mei-chun is immersed in her work!
Photo: Ms. CHAN Mei-chun is immersed in her work!
Ms. CHAN Mei-chun (middle) gets along well with her seniors, Mr. Anthony KAM (left) and Miss May KAM (right).
Photo: Ms. CHAN Mei-chun (middle) gets along well with her seniors, Mr. Anthony KAM (left) and Miss May KAM (right).

Case 2

From "zero experience" to a successful salesman

After completing his Form 5 studies, Mr. KONG Chun-mong decided to find a job and begin his career. However, he did not have any actual work experience and had no idea which kind of work would suit him. He decided to seek help from the Labour Department and with the encouragement of the placement officer, Mr. KONG joined the Work Trial Scheme (the Scheme). He was so lucky to come across Mr. Philip WONG of Visual Acuity. Mr. WONG, a very open-minded employer, patiently taught him sales techniques and a lot about optical products during the work trial. Mr. WONG even offered him employment as a salesman in July 2010 after the work trial. Mr. KONG is very grateful to Mr. WONG for helping him rebuild confidence and expand his horizons and knowledge through the Scheme. He is now able to handle customer enquiries independently and make successful sales pitches for various optical products.

Mr. WONG of Visual Acuity learnt about the Scheme from the Announcement of Public Interest on radio. He commented favourably on the Scheme, saying that it not only provided work trial opportunities for participants to see if they were suitable for the jobs, but also helped employers to find out more about the capabilities of participants and see if they were responsible and reliable. During the work trial, Mr. WONG found Mr. KONG a very honest young man, so he decided to offer him long-term employment. Mr. WONG thinks that joining the Scheme is indeed a good choice.

 Mr. KONG Chun-mong, a mature and smart salesman after training
Photo: Mr. KONG Chun-mong, a mature and smart salesman after training
 Mr. KONG Chun-mong (right) and his friend and mentor, Mr. Philip WONG (left)
Photo: Mr. KONG Chun-mong (right) and his friend and mentor, Mr. Philip WONG (left)

Case 3

A new arrival who successfully integrates into society

Brought up and educated in Mainland China, Ms. YANG Lirong moved to Hong Kong in 2008. She holds a certificate in financial accounting in Mainland China, but the qualification is not recognised in Hong Kong. She wanted to find a job, but as a stranger in the territory, she had no idea where to start. She was anxious, seeing no clear path ahead. One day, when browsing the webpage of the Work Trial Scheme (the Scheme), she clicked into the success stories posted there by chance. Hoping that she could find a job like those in the success stories, she approached the Labour Department to apply for joining the Scheme. Referred by the placement officer, Ms YANG submitted an application to Profilia of West Germany (Far East) Limited for the post of clerk and was offered a one-month work trial. During the work trial period, her supervisor coached her patiently, enabling her to understand the operation of the company and gain knowledge of the computer system. Subsequently, the company offered her employment in November 2010. Now Ms. YANG not only enjoys a stable income, but also makes some good friends in the workplace. She finds it much easier to integrate into the local life. Ms. YANG is very willing to share her experience with others. She hopes that her story can encourage job seekers to keep up their efforts despite difficulties, so that they can create their own success story.

Ms. CHAN Wai-ming, Administration Manager of Profilia of West Germany (Far East) Limited, appreciates Ms. YANG's work ability very much. As the company has retail and wholesale business for bedding products in the Mainland, Ms. YANG can make good use of her fluent Putonghua when answering calls from Mainland customers. Ms. CHAN said that since the Scheme had helped them find a right person for the post, they would have no hesitation in joining the Scheme again.

 Ms. YANG Lirong is very satisfied with her present job.
Photo: Ms. YANG Lirong is very satisfied with her present job.
 Ms. YANG Lirong (left) thanks her supervisor Ms. CHAN Wai-ming (right) and the company for giving her training and guidance.
Photo: Ms. YANG Lirong (left) thanks her supervisor Ms. CHAN Wai-ming (right) and the company for giving her training and guidance.
Last Review Date: 3 January 2022

工作试验计划

计划的最新动向

计划自推出以来,雇主的反应令人鼓舞,当中以服务业的反应最为踊跃,其次为出入口贸易业及零售业。而试工职位方面,最多为文职支援人员,非技术工人及辅助专业人员等。截至2021年12月31日,参与试工人数超过6,500。在完成试工者中,有超过七成半获参与机构提出聘用。

由2019年5月1日起,全职试工津贴额由7,600元调高至8,300元。计划亦同时扩展至兼职试工职位,而兼职试工津贴额则以每小时49元计算。

如有查询,欢迎致电工作试验计划办事处热线 2152 2090,或浏览互动就业服务网站 https://www.jobs.gov.hk


成功个案

以下是三位成功透过「工作试验计划」觅得理想工作的求职人士的简介﹕

个案一

成熟稳重的得力助手

陈美珍女士曾经是一名车衣工人,后来转到一间电子公司担任跟单文员。在该公司工作了13年后,即2010年,陈女士不幸加入了失业大军。陈女士用了一年时间努力寻找工作,不断寄出履历表,但大部分的申请都音讯全无。最后,她在劳工处就业主任的提议下参加了「工作试验计划」,并于2011年2月获安排在进念策略有限公司学习担任跟单文员。公司主要经营名牌成衣出口,陈女士利用从前对成衣行业的认识,及在电子公司担任跟单文员的经验,努力发挥所长。经过公司的悉心培训,陈女士在试工期间的表现获得肯定和赞赏。在完成一个月试工后,公司决定聘用陈女士为正式员工,更大幅提昇了她的薪酬!现时,陈女士已是公司的一份子,但她仍然努力不懈,利用工余时间报读成衣课程,希望成为公司的得力助手。

进念策略有限公司的负责人金凤朝先生及金文晶小姐均表示十分满意陈女士的工作表现。公司一直渴望聘请有成衣工作经验的跟单文员。透过朋友的介绍,公司参加了「工作试验计划」,并成功聘用了经验丰富的陈女士。两位均异口同声表示一定会继续参加 「工作试验计划」!

陈美珍女士正努力工作!
图:陈美珍女士正努力工作!
陈美珍女士(中)与她的上司金凤朝先生(左)及金文晶小姐(右)相处融洽。
图:陈美珍女士(中)与她的上司金凤朝先生(左)及金文晶小姐(右)相处融洽。

个案二

从「零经验」到成功售货员

江俊望先生在完成中五课程后决定踏进社会寻找工作,可是因为没有实际工作经验,亦对自己适合哪一类工作茫无头绪,于是他决定到劳工处寻求协助。在就业主任的鼓励下,江先生参加了「工作试验计划」。幸运地,他遇到VA眼镜的黄庆发先生。黄先生是一位十分开明的雇主,在试工期间他循循善诱地教授江先生有关销售的技巧及眼镜产品的知识。在完成试工后,黄先生更在2010年7月正式聘用了江先生担任售货员。江先生十分感激黄先生及「工作试验计划」帮助他建立自信、增广他的见识。现时,江先生除了独立处理顾客的查询,亦能成功向顾客销售不同的眼镜产品。

VA眼镜的黄先生是从电台的宣传声带认识到「工作试验计划」。他十分欣赏这个计划,一方面提供途径让参加者尝试工作,看看自己是否适合担任试工的职位;另一方面,亦让雇主了解参加者的能力,以及是否有责任感和诚信。黄先生便是透过试工期间的观察,发现江先生是一位十分老实的年轻人,于是决定聘用他为长期雇员。所以,黄先生认为参加「工作试验计划」,的确是个不错的选择。

经过培训后,江俊望先生变得成熟又醒目。
图:经过培训后,江俊望先生变得成熟又醒目。
江俊望先生(右)与黄广发先生(左)亦师亦友!
图:江俊望先生(右)与黄广发先生(左)亦师亦友!

个案三

新来港人士成功融入社会

杨丽蓉小姐在中国内地成长及接受教育,在2008年移居香港。她虽然持有国内财务会计专科的证书,但有关学历在香港未获承认,加上初期人生路不熟,杨小姐希望寻找工作却不知有何途径,顿时感到十分旁徨。在偶然的机会下,杨小姐在浏览「工作试验计划」网页时看到成功就业的个案,她希望自己也能有机会成功就业,于是主动前往劳工处要求参加「工作试验计划」。在就业主任的转介下,杨小姐到西德宝富丽(远东)有限公司申请文员的职位,并获安排参加为期一个月的试工。其间,上司悉心教导杨小姐公司的运作及电脑系统的知识,其后在2010年11月获公司正式聘用。现时杨小姐不但可以有稳定收入,她还与同事们成为好朋友,令她更容易融入香港生活。杨小姐乐意分享自己的经历,藉此鼓励在求职路上遇到困难的人士积极寻找工作,成为另一个成功故事的主角。

西德宝富丽(远东)有限公司的行政部经理陈慧明小姐十分欣赏杨小姐的工作能力。由于公司在中国内地设有零售及批发床上用品的业务,当有内地的客人致电公司时,杨小姐流利的普通话便大派用场。陈小姐表示「工作试验计划」为公司找到合适的员工,所以公司必定会再次参加!

杨丽蓉小姐很满意现时的工作。
图:杨丽蓉小姐很满意现时的工作。
杨丽蓉小姐(左)感谢上司陈慧明小姐(右)及公司的栽培。
图:杨丽蓉小姐(左)感谢上司陈慧明小姐(右)及公司的栽培。
返回页首
复检日期: 2022年1月3日