Employment Programme for the Elderly and Middle-aged

Introduction

The Employment Programme for the Elderly and Middle-aged (EPEM) aims at encouraging employers to engage unemployed job seekers aged 40 or above in full-time or part-time long-term job vacancies and provide the job seekers with on-the-job training (OJT), through the provision of training allowance to employers. This will enable job seekers to adapt to new work environment and acquire essential job-specific skills with a view to securing stable employment. Upon completion of OJT by eligible employees under EPEM, employers engaging elderly job seekers aged 60 or above who are unemployed or have left the workforce may apply for an OJT allowance of up to $5,000 per month per employee for 6 to 12 months; while employers engaging unemployed job seekers aged 40 to 59 may apply for an OJT allowance of up to $4,000 per month per employee for 3 to 6 months.

Labour Department (LD) launched a pilot scheme on 1 September 2020 to encourage the elderly aged 60 or above under EPEM to undergo and complete OJT through the provision of retention allowance, thereby stabilising employment. Each eligible employee can apply for retention allowance of up to $1,000 per month if they have stayed at their jobs for three months or above during the OJT period and can receive retention allowance for a maximum period of 12 months (i.e. up to $12,000) under the three-year pilot scheme.

Job-seekers

Eligibility

All job seekers aged 40 or above and have an unemployment period of not less than 1 month within 1 year prior to the commencement date of employment are eligible for EPEM.

Registration

No prior registration under EPEM is required. After job seekers have secured full-time or part-time (i.e. working 18 hours to less than 30 hours per week) employment from long-term job vacancies registered at the LD, job seekers can submit the completed "Preliminary Application Form for On-the-Job Training" through the employers to LD within the first month of employment and complete other application procedures.

Retention Allowance

Eligible employees under EPEM who are aged 60 or above at the time of employment, secure employment from long-term vacancies registered at LD, join EPEM through the employer to undergo OJT of 6 to 12 months and stay at the job for three months or more during the OJT period, can apply for retention allowance from LD at the amount as below:

Type of Post
Period for Retention Allowance
Amount of Retention Allowance*
Type of Post: Full-time Post
Period for Retention Allowance: Up to 12 OJT months
(subject to the length of OJT period approved by LD)
Amount of Retention Allowance*: $3,000 for staying in the job for three months and $1000 per month for completion of each subsequent month
Type of post: Part-time Post#
Period for Retention Allowance: Up to 12 OJT months
(subject to the length of OJT period approved by LD)
Amount of Retention Allowance*: $1,500 for staying in the job for three months and $500 per month for completion of each subsequent month

* Retention Allowance is calculated by each complete month within the OJT period.

# Working 18 hours to less than 30 hours per week will be defined as part-time post.

Employers

Eligibility

Employers who register their vacancies of full-time or part-time long-term posts with the LD and then employ elderly or middle-aged job seekers aged 40 or above and have an unemployment period of not less than 1 month within 1 year prior to the commencement date of employment to fill such posts, may submit applications to LD for the provision of OJT to the newly hired employees under EPEM.

On-the-job Training and Training Allowance

In general, OJT lasts for 3 months for employees aged 40 to 59 and 6 months for employees aged 60 or above. Subject to the approval of the LD with assessment on the nature of the post and business, experience of the employees and mentors, and mode and content of the training, etc., the OJT period may be extended to a maximum of 6 months for employees aged 40 to 59 and 12 months for employees aged 60 or above for deserving cases in which employers have to provide information for vetting.

Upon completion of OJT by eligible employees under EPEM, participating employers may apply for training allowance from LD with details as tabulated below:

Type of post
Age of Employee^
Amount of OJT allowance*
(per month per employee)
Type of post: Full-time post
Age of Employee^: Aged 40 to 59
Amount of OJT allowance*:
(per month per employee):
50% of the employee's salary of the month,
with the maximum amount up to $4,000
Age of Employee^: Aged 60 or above
Amount of OJT allowance*
(per month per employee):
50% of the employee's salary of the month,
with the maximum amount up to $5,000
Type of post: Part-time post#
Age of Employee^: Aged 40 to 59
Amount of OJT allowance*
(per month per employee):
25% of the employee's salary of the month,
with the maximum amount up to $4,000
Age of Employee^: Aged 60 or above
Amount of OJT allowance*
(per month per employee):
50% of the employee's salary of the month,
with the maximum amount up to $5,000

^ Age of employee at the commencement of employment.

* Under EPEM, when computing the salary of the job, any items which does not fall within the definition of "wages" under the Employment Ordinance (e.g. discretionary bonus, end of year payment, etc.), irrespective of how it is designated or calculated, should be excluded.

# Working 18 hours to less than 30 hours per week will be defined as part-time post.

Registration

Employers should register their full-time or part-time long-term vacancies with the LD through completion of the "Vacancy Order Form" or via the "Interactive Employment Service" website and indicate that they welcome applications from elderly and middle-aged job seekers. After the job vacancies are registered with LD, job seekers obtain vacancies information and proceed to applications through referrals of the LD or directly to the employers, depending on the job application method selected by the employers.

When employers employ eligible job seekers under EPEM, they have to submit a completed "Preliminary Application Form for On-the-Job Training" , together with copies of Business Registration Certificate, Certificate of Registration of a School or other recognized license, to the Programme Office [Address: 10/F, Kowloon East Government Offices, 12 Lei Yue Mun Road, Kwun Tong. Fax no. 2391 3937] within (i) 3 months from the date when the job vacancy is posted at LD, and (ii) the first month after the commencement of employment of the job seekers. LD may request the employer to submit supporting documents on the salary and hours of work of the job (e.g. the signed employment contract) for examination.

#For enquiries, please contact EPEM Hotline : 2150 6398

Back to top
Last Review Date: 22 November 2022

中高齡就業計劃

計劃介紹

「中高齡就業計劃」旨在透過向僱主發放在職培訓津貼,以鼓勵聘用年滿40歲或以上的失業求職人士,擔任全職或兼職長工,並為他們提供在職培訓,讓他們盡快適應新的工作環境,掌握工作所需的技能,從而獲得一份穩定的工作。於合資格僱員完成計劃下的在職培訓後,聘用60歲或以上失業或已離開職場的年長求職人士的僱主,可就每名僱員申請每月最高達5,000元的在職培訓津貼,為期6至12個月;聘用40歲至59歲失業求職人士的僱主,則可就每名僱員申請每月最高達4,000元的在職培訓津貼,為期3至6個月。

勞工處於2020年9月1日起以試點方式,向參加「中高齡就業計劃」的60歲或以上年長人士發放留任津貼,鼓勵他們接受及完成在職培訓,從而穩定就業。合資格僱員於在職培訓期內留任滿三個月或以上,可申領每月最高1,000元的留任津貼。每名合資格僱員於三年試點措施推行期內,最多可申領12個月的留任津貼(即最多12,000元)。

求職人士

參加資格

凡年滿40歲或以上,並在受聘日期前1年內失業不少於1個月的求職人士。

登記手續

無需預先申請參加本計劃,求職人士可待成功獲聘於經勞工處接納登記的全職兼職(兼職即每星期工作18小時至少於30小時)長工空缺後,於入職首個月內經僱主向勞工處遞交《在職培訓初步申請表格》,並辦理相關手續。

留任津貼

參加「中高齡就業計劃」的僱員如受聘時年滿60歲或以上,成功獲聘於勞工處接納登記的長工空缺後,經僱主參加「中高齡就業計劃」並接受計劃下為期6至12個月的在職培訓,於在職培訓期內留任滿三個月或以上可向勞工處申請的留任津貼金額計算如下:

職位類別
津貼期
留任津貼金額*
職位類別: 全職職位
津貼期: 於在職培訓期內,最多12個月
(視乎勞工處批核的在職培訓期的長短)
留任津貼金額*: 留任滿三個月的留任津貼為$3,000,
其後留任每滿一個月的留任津貼為每月$1,000
職位類別: 兼職職位#
津貼期: 於在職培訓期內,最多12個月
(視乎勞工處批核的在職培訓期的長短)
留任津貼金額*: 留任滿三個月的留任津貼為$1,500,
其後留任每滿一個月的留任津貼為每月$500

* 留任津貼以完整的在職培訓月份計算。

# 每星期工作18小時至少於30小時即屬兼職性質。

僱主

參加資格

僱主只須於勞工處登記全職兼職長工空缺,並聘用年滿40歲或以上,在受聘日期前1年內失業不少於1個月的中高齡求職人士擔任該職位,便可向勞工處提出初步申請,並在勞工處指定的培訓期內為該新入職員工提供在職培訓。

在職培訓期及培訓津貼金額

40至59歲的僱員的在職培訓期一般為期3個月,60歲或以上的僱員則為6個月。就一些值得給予較長培訓期的個案,僱主提供資料,經勞工處批核後,培訓期可延長。40至59歲的僱員的培訓期可延長至最多6個月,60歲或以上僱員則可延長至最多12個月。勞工處會視乎個別個案的職位、行業性質、僱員和指導員的經驗、培訓的形式和內容等批核培訓期的長短。

於合資格僱員完成計劃下的在職培訓後,僱主可向勞工處申請培訓津貼,詳情如下:

職位類別
僱員年齡^
在職培訓津貼金額
(以每名僱員每月計算)
職位類別: 全職職位
僱員年齡^: 40至59歲
在職培訓津貼金額
(以每名僱員每月計算):
僱員當月薪金*的50%,
在職培訓津貼上限為$4,000
僱員年齡^: 60歲或以上
在職培訓津貼金額
(以每名僱員每月計算):
僱員當月薪金*的50%,
在職培訓津貼上限為$5,000
職位類別: 兼職職位#
僱員年齡^: 40至59歲
在職培訓津貼金額
(以每名僱員每月計算):
僱員當月薪金*的25%,
在職培訓津貼上限為$4,000
僱員年齡^: 60歲或以上
在職培訓津貼金額
(以每名僱員每月計算):
僱員當月薪金*的50%,
在職培訓津貼上限為$5,000

^ 僱員在入職時的年齡。

* 就本計劃而言,在計算薪金時,所有不屬僱傭條例下「工資」的款項(例如酌情花紅及年終酬金),不論其名稱或計算方法,均不列入計算之內。

# 每星期工作18小時至少於30小時即屬兼職性質。

參加手續

有意參加本計劃的僱主須先填寫勞工處的《職位招聘表》或透過「互動就業服務」網站,登記有關的全職兼職長工職位空缺。僱主可於表格上註明歡迎中高齡求職人士申請有關職位。有關職位空缺獲勞工處接納刊登後,求職人士獲悉職位空缺資料,視乎僱主選定的應徵方法,可透過勞工處轉介或直接聯絡僱主應徵該職位。

如僱主已僱用符合本計劃資格的求職人士,必須盡快填妥《在職培訓初步申請表格》,並於(i)該職位空缺在勞工處刊登日期起計的3個月內,及(ii)該受僱員工入職後的首個月內,將表格連同商業登記證、學校註冊證或認可註冊團體證明副本,一併遞交至「中高齡就業計劃」辦事處(地址 : 九龍觀塘鯉魚門道12號東九龍政府合署10字樓 ; 傳真號碼: 2391 3937)。勞工處有權要求僱主提供受僱職位薪金及工作時數的證明文件(例如已簽署的僱傭合約)以作審查。

#如有查詢,請即與我們聯絡:「中高齡就業計劃」熱線 2150 6398

返回頁首
覆檢日期: 2022年1月4日